Home » writing » Two weeks and counting

Two weeks and counting

Well actually, a bit more than two weeks, but have to fit in Christmas, return home of student son and a few more bits and bobs before submitting in week beginning 7th January.

What a difference a week can make!

Last Saturday, I was ready to throw the towel in, pick up my knitting needles and retreat to my rocking chair and grow old gracefully. This week, I am pumped up and ready to get on with completing the writing task.

What has made the difference?

Support.

A supervisor who has seen it all before giving freely of her time to hear what was troubling me and help me understand my confusion and how to get beyond it.

Friends, especially the network of other graduate researchers using the Twitter #phdchat hashtag, who understand all too well the highs and lows of this very odd journey.

So, with enthusiasm, I will be doing a lot of writing over the next few days, followed by a fair bit of editing and all should be ready for printing once the printshop is open again after the Christmas recess…

6 Comments

  1. pravin says:

    Amazing post. Having observed the tough time you had on #phdchat I am so glad you are feeling so positive and close to submitting. I am in same position as you so u hsve motivated me with your post.

  2. lizit says:

    So glad my post is encouraging and motivating you! It’s a tough journey we’re all undertaking – and a lonely one! But knowing others are on the same path can help 🙂

  3. Jackie says:

    All the best for these last few weeks! I didn’t really get into twitter much till after I’d submitted so missed out on #phdchat, but can see how supportive it is. I’m looking forward to the celebrations when it’s all over 🙂

  4. lizit says:

    One of the things that is really good at present is the number of #phdchatters who are approaching submission. We really ought to have a bit virtual party some time in the new year 🙂

  5. Wishing you the joy of it coming together, best wishes.

Leave a Reply

